Happenings in the Flex World

I’ve been off blogging a bit. So here’s some news on what’s happening in the Flex World.

I have been reading a lot of Blogs lately (rather than writing stuff) and came across some interesting pieces of information. ThoughtI’ll collate them for the benifit of those who missed it.

1) Vista Blue Theme on ScaleNine

Juan’s site has an awesome Vista Blue CSS for your Flex Apps. Very nice indeed. What’s more exciting is that its done by an Indian – Bhavin Padhiyar. What impresses me most is the DateChooser and DateField. I dont like the ComboBox muxh and think that the TextInput looks like a button (But, who am I to comment when I cant do even a fraction of what he has done 😀 … Way to go BP).

You can experience it & Download it

One of the best things is that he gives you a Photoshop file where you can customize your assets… Nice

2) Animated GIF Loader by Doug

This is something I always wanted. SWFLoader/Image control has a drawback of not supporting animated GIFs (a workaround is to have the animated GIF inside a SWF and embed the SWF itself). Its great to see Doug come out with this. But it’s a commercial component (for a meger $50). This one’s surely for the FlexBox… Are you listening Mrinal?? 😉

3) [The Big One] Ryan Stewart is working for Adobe now

Anyone (well almost…) in the RIA Arena would have heard of/read the ZDNet Blog by Ryan Stewart. He’s very well known in the RIA domain and is now gonna work for Adobe… Ryan is joining as a Rich Internet Application Evangelist on the Platform Team. Welcome Ryan… we are looking forward to working with you 🙂 But, this notwithstanding, I sincerely hope he continues his unbiased evaluations of different technologies… may it be Flex, Flash, Ajax or Apollo

That’s all for now 🙂

3 Responses to Happenings in the Flex World

  1. Hi Raghu,

    Yes, I’m listening … Currently there is no commercial component on flexbox, the only reason being my hesitation … as I’m not sure if the authors of such components would like it or not .. I mean for them its business ….. maybe I should first send emails to request permission before adding commercial components … what do you think?

    Mrinal

  2. raghunathrao says:

    Hi Mrinal,
    I think that would be best. Though I don’t see any reason why they wouldn’t want it on FlexBox.
    Its probably the most famous collection of Flex Components on the Internet today. Its just awesome publicity for them, not that guys like Doug need publicity
    Raghu

  3. Hi raghu,

    I really glad about your thought for my new vista theme. I will always try to serve community.

    Thanks for your great appreciation.

Leave a Reply

